Project Description

Jean Hippolyte Marchand

Still Life with Jug , 1912
Oil on canvas
Dimensions: 54 x 42cm
With frame: 79 x 68 cm
Price: €15,000

The artist delivers here a Cubist still life, solid and austere, which the English will recognize as the main qualities of the French tradition, from Poussin to Cézanne. The terracotta jug is a recurring motif, which he uses on the back of his most famous self-portrait.

The painting has a reverse side . The painter depicts a view of the banks of the Seine and the Pont Marie painted from the window of his studio on the Île Saint-Louis, around 1910. We would like to thank Mr Michel Charzat, author of the book “La Jeune Peinture Française 1910-1940” for his indications concerning the place and the date of the back of the work.

Jean Marchand is a painter of avant-garde adventure. It is from the Cubism of the Salons, prefigures Futurism. From 1910, the public and the critics wondered. Should Marchand be placed among the Fauves of yesterday or among the Cubists of tomorrow? Apollinaire, in The Cubist Painters of 1913, classifies the artist in “physical cubism”.

At the age of eighteen, Jean Marchand left his family to learn painting. He joined the studio of Jean Bonnat and Luc-Olivier Merson at the Beaux-Arts in Paris. Disappointed with academic learning, he decides to be his own master.

He exhibited at the Salon des Indépendants in 1908, won a scholarship from the Seine department in 1910, left his attic on the Ile Saint-Louis and took over Renoir’s former studio in Montmartre. He frequents the Lhotes and the Dufys in Orgeval. With Sonia Lewitska, decorative painter, he travels to Ukraine, Warsaw and Moscow.

In 1912, he exhibited at the Salon de la section d’or, a major exhibition in the history of the construction of Cubism. In 1915, he presented his paintings at the Carfax Gallery in London. Roger Fry, from the Bloomsbury group, exhibited it in London for his second exhibition on post-impressionist artists. He works with the group as an illustrator and painter.

Bibliography:

• Michel Charzat, “Young French painting, 1910 – 1940, an era, an art of living”, Paris, Hazan, 2010, p. 166-173.

• British conservation, “The Bloomsbury group”, Paris, Gallimard, 2009, p. 145-249

Museums:

• In Paris: City of Paris Museum of Modern Art. In London: Tate Gallery (four paintings).

• In France: Lyon, Hospices Civils de Lyon museum; Marseille, Museum of European and Mediterranean Civilizations (mucem); Villeneuve-d’Ascq, Lille Métropole modern art museum; Troyes, modern art museum; Grenoble, Grenoble Museum; Céret, modern art museum; Besançon, museum of fine arts and archeology; Saint-Tropez, Annonciade museum.

Project Description

Jean Hippolyte Marchand

Nature morte à la cruche, 1912
Huile sur toile
Dimensions : 54 x 42 cm
Avec cadre : 79 x 68 cm
Prix : 15 000 €

L’artiste nous délivre ici une nature morte cubiste, solide et austère, que les anglais reconnaitront comme les principales qualités de la tradition française, de Poussin à Cézanne. La cruche en terre cuite est un motif récurrent, qu’il reprend au dos de son plus célèbre autoportrait.

Le tableau présente un verso. Le peintre y figure une vue des quais de Seine et du Pont Marie peinte de la fenêtre de son atelier de l’Île Saint-Louis, autour de 1910. Nous remercions Mr Michel Charzat, auteur du livre « la Jeune peinture française 1910-1940» pour ses indications concernant le lieu et la date du verso de l’oeuvre.

Jean Marchand est un peintre de l’aventure des avant-gardes. Il est du Cubisme des Salons, préfigure le Futurisme. Dès 1910, le public et la critique s’interrogent. Faut-il placer Marchand chez les fauves d’hier ou chez les cubistes de demain ? Apollinaire, dans Les peintres cubistesde 1913, classe l’artiste dans le « cubisme physique ».

Âgé de dix-huit ans, Jean Marchand quitte sa famille pour apprendre la peinture. Il rejoint l’atelier de Jean Bonnat et de Luc-Olivier Merson aux Beaux-Arts de Paris. Déçu de l’apprentissage académique, il décide d’être à lui-même son propre maître.

Il expose au Salon des Indépendants en 1908, décroche une bourse du département de la Seine en 1910, quitte sa mansarde de l’ile Saint-Louis et investit l’ancien atelier de Renoir à Montmartre. Il fréquente les Lhote et les Dufy à Orgeval. Avec Sonia Lewitska, peintre décorative, il voyage en Ukraine, à Varsovie et à Moscou.

En 1912, il expose au Salon de la section d’or, exposition majeure dans l’histoire de la construction du Cubisme. En 1915, il présente ses toiles à la Carfax Gallery de Londres. Roger Fry, du groupe de Bloomsbury, l’expose à Londres pour sa seconde exposition sur les artistes postimpressionistes. Il travaille avec le groupe comme illustrateur et peintre.

Bibliographie :

• Michel Charzat, « La jeune peinture française, 1910 – 1940, une époque, un art de vivre », Paris, Hazan, 2010, p. 166-173.

• Conservation anglaise, « Le groupe de Bloomsbury », Paris, Gallimard, 2009, p. 145-249

Musées :

• À Paris : Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris. À Londres : Tate Gallery (quatre tableaux).

• En France : Lyon, musée des Hospices civils de Lyon ; Marseille, musée des Civilisations de l’Europe et de la Méditerranée (mucem) ; Villeneuve-d’Ascq, musée d’art moderne Lille Métropole ; Troyes, musée d’art moderne ; Grenoble, musée de Grenoble ; Céret, musée d’art moderne ; Besançon, musée des beaux-arts et d’archéologie ; Saint-Tropez, musée de l’Annonciade.