Project Description

Jacqueline Marval

The bathers , dated 1905
Oil on canvas
Signed and dated lower right
Dimensions: with frame 67.5 x 58.5 cm
Reproduced p. 66-67 in François Roussier, Jacqueline Marval: 1866-1932
Price: 12,000 euros

Jacqueline Marval is a painter from the end of the 19th century and the turn of the 20th century. Born in 1866 from a family of teachers near Grenoble, she did not come to painting until late. She moved to Paris in 1895 in Montparnasse, at the heart of artistic life at the end of the century.

A modest seamstress by trade, she was introduced to painting at the instigation of her companion Jules Flandrin (1871 – 1947), a pupil of Gustave Moreau. He encourages her talent as an observer and colorist. She meets Matisse, Guérin, Laurencin, Camin, Rouault, Marquet and the others.

The artist opens the way to dream and softness in his poetic compositions. A talented painter, she modeled herself on the ideas of Fauvism: breaking perspective, giving density to the pictorial material through color and touch, leaving academic subjects to enhance the verism of the landscape as the dreamlike projections of the mind.

Her paintings were refused at the Salon of 1900, she only exhibited there the following year. At that time, genius collectors and gallery owners Berthe Weill, Ambroise Vollard and Eugène Druet bought and exhibited his work. In February 1902, Jacqueline Marval exhibited alongside Matisse, Marquet, and his companion Flandrin at Berthe Weill, 25 rue Victor Massé.

From then on, she took off and exhibited in the four corners of the world (from the Metropolitan in New York to the Ohara museum in Kurashiki in Japan, passing through all of Europe), was praised by critics (Guillaume Apollinaire considered her to be ” one of the most remarkable artists of this time” Le Temps, February 25, 1912) and provokes the admiration of all, whether by his work or by his strong personality

Bibliography:

• François Roussier, Jacqueline Marval : 1866-1932 , Paris, Thalia Edition, 2008 (reprinted 1987), 407 pages

Museums:

• In France: Nantes Fine Arts Museum, Grenoble Fine Arts Museum (including a portrait of the artist by Jules Hippolyte Flandrin), Goya Museum in Castres, Mainssieux Museum in Voiron, Paul Dini Museum in Villefranche-sur -Saone.

Project Description

Jacqueline Marval

Les baigneuses, datée 1905
Huile sur toile
Signée et datée en bas à droite
Dimensions : avec cadre 67,5 x 58,5 cm
Reproduit p. 66-67 in François Roussier, Jacqueline Marval : 1866-1932
Prix : 12 000 euros

Jacqueline Marval est une artiste peintre de la fin du XIXème siècle et du tournant du XXème. Née en 1866 d’une famille d’instituteurs près de Grenoble, elle n’arrive qua tardivement à la peinture. Elle s’installe à Paris en 1895 à Montparnasse, au cœur de la vie artistique de la fin du siècle.

Modeste couturière de métier, elle s’initie à la peinture sous l’impulsion de son compagnon Jules Flandrin (1871 – 1947), élève de Gustave Moreau. Il encourage son talent d’observatrice et de coloriste. Elle rencontre Matisse, Guérin, Laurencin, Camin, Rouault, Marquet et les autres.

L’artiste ouvre la voie au rêve et à la douceur dans ses compositions poétiques. Peintre de talent, elle se calque sur les idées du fauvisme : rompre la perspective, donner densité à la matière picturale par la couleur et la touche, sortir des sujets académiques pour valoriser le vérisme du paysage comme les projections oniriques de l’esprit.

Ses peintures sont refusées au Salon de 1900, elle n’y expose que l’année suivante. À ce moment, les collectionneurs et galeristes de génie Berthe Weill, Ambroise Vollard et Eugène Druet achètent et exposent son œuvre. En février 1902, Jacqueline Marval expose au côté de Matisse, Marquet, et de son compagnon Flandrin chez Berthe Weill, 25 rue Victor Massé.

Dès lors, elle prend son envol et expose aux quatre coins du monde (du Metropolitan à New-York au musée Ohara de Kurashiki au Japon, en passant par toute l’Europe), est encensée par la critique (Guillaume Apollinaire la considère comme « l’une des plus remarquables artistes de ce temps » Le Temps, 25 février 1912) et provoque l’admiration de tous, que ce soit par son travail ou par sa forte personnalité

Bibliographie :

• François Roussier, Jacqueline Marval : 1866-1932, Paris, Thalia Édition, 2008 (réed. 1987), 407 pages

Musées :

• En France : musée des beaux-arts de Nantes, musée de beaux-arts de Grenoble (dont un portait de l’artiste de Jules Hippolyte Flandrin), musée Goya de Castres, musée Mainssieux de Voiron, musée Paul Dini de Villefranche-sur-Saône.