Project Description

Gaston LECREUX

Bouquets, around 1905
Oil on canvas
Signed lower right
Size: 81 x 61cm
Price: 7500 €

Gaston Lecreux represents bouquets of buttercups, snowballs, carnations and lilacs, which he frames through a window. The transparency of a curtain lets the day filter through, bathing the painting in a soft luminosity. The pastel colors blend into a harmonious gradation of white, pink and purple. The painter, who specializes in painting flowers, enriches the vocabulary expected of a still life through his delicate work with light. Here, the artist chooses to represent several bouquets. Should we see a symbolism there? That of a renewal, perhaps, since the flowers of the end of winter cohabit with those of the beginning of spring.

Gaston Lecreux is a painter of flowers, landscapes, watercolourist and decorator. He is a pupil of Alfred Boucher and Noël. His career began at the Salon of 1877, he obtained a medal for his still lifes. Quickly, it is recognized and celebrated for its floral specialty. For this reason, he was appointed jury of a Salon at the end of his career.

Bibliography:

• Bénézit Dictionary of Artist – Oxford Art Online.

• Emile Bellier de la Chavignerie, Louis Auvray, General dictionary of artists of the French school from the origin of the arts of drawing to the present day; architects, painters, sculptors, engravers and lithographers , Paris, Renouard, 1882-1885.

• Léonce Bénédite, The Masterpieces of the Luxembourg Museum, Paris, Lapina, 1818-1937.

Museums:

Paris, Musée d’Orsay. Four paintings are exhibited in the national collections. Buttercups (1910), Iris (1906) and Nature Morte (1910), held at the Center National des Arts Plastiques. A fourth painting is listed in the inventory of the Regional Fund for Contemporary Art in Paris.

• Reims, Museum of Fine Arts (two paintings, named Flowers ).

• One of his etchings, Fleurs de Pommier , is kept in the library of the National Institute of Art History.

Project Description

Gaston LECREUX

Les bouquets, vers 1905
Huile sur toile
Signée en bas à droite
Dimensions : 81 x 61 cm
Vendu

Gaston Lecreux représente des bouquets de renoncules, de boules de neige, d’œillets et de lilas, qu’il encadre par une fenêtre. La transparence d’un rideau laisse filtrer le jour, baignant la peinture d’une douce luminosité. Les coloris pastels se fondent dans un harmonieux dégradé de blanc, de rose et de violine. Le peintre, spécialisé en peinture de fleurs, enrichit le vocabulaire attendu d’une nature morte par son travail délicat de la lumière. Ici, l’artiste choisit de représenter plusieurs bouquets. Doit-on y voir une symbolique ? Celle d’un renouveau, peut-être, puisque les fleurs de la fin de l’hiver cohabitent avec celle du début du printemps.

Gaston Lecreux est peintre de fleurs, paysages, aquarelliste et décorateur. Il est l’élève d’Alfred Boucher et de Noël. Sa carrière débute au Salon de 1877, il obtient une médaille pour ses natures mortes. Rapidement, il est reconnu et célébrer pour sa spécialité florale. Pour cette raison, il est nommé jury d’un Salon à la fin de sa carrière.

Bibliographie :

• Bénézit Dictionary of Artist – Oxford Art Online.

• Émile Bellier de la Chavignerie, Louis Auvray, Dictionnaire général des artistes de l’école française depuis l’origine des arts du dessin jusqu’à nos jours ; architectes, peintres, sculpteurs, graveurs et lithographes, Paris, Renouard, 1882-1885.

• Léonce Bénédite, Les Chefs-d’œuvre du Musée du Luxembourg, Paris, Lapina, 1818-1937.

Musées :

Paris, musée d’Orsay. Quatre tableaux sont exposés dans les collections nationales. Renoncules (1910), Iris (1906) et Nature Morte (1910), conservés au centre national des arts plastiques. Une quatrième peinture est renseignée dans l’inventaire du Fond Régional d’Art contemporain de Paris.

• Reims, musée des Beaux-Arts (deux tableaux, nommés Fleurs).

• L’une de ses eaux-fortes, Fleurs de Pommier, est conservée à la bibliothèque de l’Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art.