Project Description

Frantz Charlet

Family run on the beach
Oil on canvas
Signed lower right
Size: 38 x 56cm
With frame: 57x74cm.
Price: 13,000 euro

Frantz Charlet represents a family occupied with the pleasure of horse riding on the beach. Animals, horses, a dog, a few human figures, the child, the parents, speed, breaking waves and racing: everything is there for the painter to experiment with the representation of movement.

The painting almost breathes the sea air. One wonders if it was the wind from the sea that lifted the painter’s hand when he was painting, so much the material shows dynamism and liveliness.

The painter is premature, he starts at fifteen in Ghent, exhibits a still life and sells it. He took lessons from Jean-François Portaëls in Brussels, left for Paris and joined the studio of Léon Gérôme, Jules Lefebvre and Carolus-Duran from 1880 to 1882. A friend of Théo van Rysselberghe, he undertook a long journey with him through Spain and North Africa. He goes through Nice, a merchant buys all his studies from him.

He joined Brussels in 1883 and founded the Groupe des XX with Ensor and van Rysselberghe. The movement continues with Free Aesthetics. In 1908, he exhibited his paintings in Paris, at the George Petit gallery. Critics hail his painting of landscapes as well as interior scenes. Follower one day of Seurat, weary of the laws of optics the next day, he nevertheless undertakes research on light vibrations and resonances centered on the ratio of tones, until his forms seem modeled only by the only color.

Museums :

• Paris Musée d’Orsay, Brussels (Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium).

Bibliography :

• Gérald Schurr, Pierre Cabane, “Dictionary of the little masters of painting”, 1820-1920, Volume 1, Paris, amateur editions, 1996, p. 253.

Project Description

Frantz Charlet

En famille, course à la plage
Huile sur toile
Signée en bas à droite
Dimensions : 38 x 56 cm
Avec cadre: 57 x 74 cm.
Prix : 13 000 euros

Frantz Charlet représente une famille occupée au plaisir de l’équitation sur la plage. Des animaux, les chevaux, un chien, quelques figures humaines, l’enfant, les parents, la vitesse, des vagues qui déferlent et la course : tout est réuni pour que le peintre expérimente la représentation du mouvement.

La peinture respire presque l’air marin. L’on se demande si c’est le vent de la mer qui a soulevé la main du peintre lorsqu’il peignait, tant la matière fait preuve de dynamisme et de vivacité.

Le peintre est prématuré, il débute à quinze ans à Gand, expose une nature morte et la vend. Il suit les cours de Jean-François Portaëls à Bruxelles, s’en va pour Paris et rejoint l’atelier de Léon Gérôme, de Jules Lefebvre et de Carolus-Duran de 1880 à 1882. Ami de Théo van Rysselberghe, il entreprend avec lui un long voyage à travers l’Espagne et l’Afrique du Nord. Il passe par Nice, un marchand lui achète toutes ses études.

Il rejoint Bruxelles en 1883 et fonde le Groupe des XX avec Ensor et van Rysselberghe. Le mouvement se poursuit par la Libre Esthétique. En 1908, il expose ses toiles à Paris, à la galerie George Petit. La critique salue sa peinture de paysages comme de scènes d’intérieurs. Adepte un jour de Seurat, las des lois de l’optique le jour suivant, il entreprend tout de même des recherches sur les vibrations lumineuses et les résonances axées sur le rapport des tons, jusqu’à ce que ses formes ne semblent modelées que par la seule couleur.

Musées :

• Paris Musée d’Orsay, Bruxelles (Musées royaux des Beaux-Arts de Belgique).

Bibliographie :

• Gérald Schurr, Pierre Cabane, « Dictionnaire des petits maîtres de la peinture », 1820-1920, Tome 1, Paris, les éditions de l’amateur, 1996, p. 253.