Project Description

Charles Louis Gratia

Still life with mandolin , dated 1852

Pastel on canvas
Signed and dated upper right
Dimensions: 61 x 70cm
With frame 87 x 95 cm

Price: 7000 €

“A very valiant artist, Charles-Louis Gratia, of the School of Nancy, had in his male talent preserved intact the tradition of Peronneau and Latour in works among which a large number of portraits of dramatic artists appeared at the Salons of 1837 to 1870 and whose most authoritative art critics of that time have left us the greatest praise. », Jany-Robert, “The Pastel”, 1908.

French painter and pastellist of the French school, Charles Louis Gratia is the author of a treatise on pastel. He describes how he makes his pastels, and insists on the need for each artist to make them himself in order to obtain delicate colors and a lasting texture. It informs the manufacturing process; certain very rare and expensive powders and pigments come from the stamens of flowers or the wings of tropical butterflies. His concern for manufacturing makes all the difference: a century later, his paintings still bear witness to the same freshness.

Charles-Louis Gratia gives us a complex and precise nature. He works his composition and organizes the objects with skill for the pleasure of the spectator. Here, the still life is as luxurious as it is modest. It abounds with fresh grapes, whose grains bursting with sugar have the skin stretched to capture a hint of light.

They elegantly frame the mandolin, whose presence lends conceptual momentum to the composition. The musical instrument is reflected in the cup, whose slender foot supports a bunch of grapes. The image is distorted by the curvature of the cup. The rustic pitcher contrasts with the elegant mandoline. The tablecloth, embroidered with golden threads, gives light and sits the composition with refinement in the lower part of the painting.

The painter trained with Henri Decaisne. A fine pastellist, he exhibited at the Paris Salon from 1837 to 1882. He mainly represents the beautiful world of Paris, from Frédéric Chopin to George Sand (1866), some studies of anatomy and elegant still lifes. Throughout his career, the painter has no rival; he excels alone at the top of his game.

A member of the Society of French Artists, he frequented the poets Victor Hugo and Alphonse de Lamartine, the painter Ernest Meissonnier and the actor Frédérick Lemaître. Following the political upheavals of the July Monarchy, the painter left for London in 1850 with his wife and two daughters. His sons, one a brilliant composer and the other an actor, live in Paris.

In London, his beginnings are difficult, although he imposes himself by the art of pastel. The English consecrated his art when he painted the portrait of the first Queen’s Chamberlain, Lord Willoughby, and later that of Queen Victoria herself. In order not to arouse the jealousy of the official court painter, Franz Xaver Winterhalter, the portrait is not exhibited and the title of the illustrious model is not disclosed. Back in Paris, “La liseuse”, a portrait of his late daughter, was bought by the State and was exhibited in the galleries of the Champs Elysées in Paris. Shortly after, the Nancy Museum of Fine Arts acquired one of his wife’s portraits.

Museums:

• Nancy, Nottingham.

Bibliography:

• Charles-Louis Gratia, “Traité de la peinture au Pastel”, Nancy, Failly: Association des artistes lorraines (founded by Charles-Louis Gratia in 1892), first edition 1891, reissue 2014. To read on: http://www.pastel-noun.com/pages/traite-de-pastel-charles-louis-gratia.html

• Louis Dussieux, “French artists abroad, third edition”, Paris, Librairie Jacques Lecoffrre et Cie, p. 297

• Jany-Robert, “Le Pastel”, Paris, Fine Arts Printing, 1908, p. 11-12 and p. 24

Project Description

Charles Louis Gratia

Nature morte à la mandoline, daté 1852

Pastel sur toile
Signé et daté en haut à droite
Dimensions : 61 x 70 cm
Avec cadre 87 x 95 cm

Prix : 7000 €

« Un très vaillant artiste, Charles-Louis Gratia, de l’Ecole de Nancy, avait en son mâle talent conservé intacte la tradition des Peronneau et des Latour en des œuvres parmi lesquelles un grand nombre de portraits d’artistes dramatiques parurent aux Salons de 1837 à 1870 et dont les critiques d’art les plus autorisés de ce temps, nous ont laissé le plus grand éloge. », Jany-Robert, « Le Pastel », 1908.

Peintre et pastelliste français de l’école française, Charles Louis Gratia est auteur d’une traité sur le pastel. Il décrit la façon dont il fabrique ses pastels, et insiste sur la nécessité pour chaque artiste de les réaliser soi-même afin d’obtenir des teintes délicates et une texture durable. Il renseigne le processus de fabrication ; certaines poudres et pigments, très rares et couteux, proviennent des étamines des fleurs ou d’ailes de papillon des tropiques. Son soucis de la fabrication fait toute la différence : un siècle après, ses tableaux témoignent toujours de la même fraîcheur.

Charles-Louis Gratia nous livre une nature complexe et précise. Il travaille sa composition et organise les objets avec habilité pour le plaisir du spectateur. Ici, la nature morte est autant luxueuse qu’elle est modeste. Elle abonde de raisins frais, dont les grains gorgés de sucres ont la peau tendue jusqu’à saisir une pointe de lumière.

Ils encadrent élégamment la mandoline, dont la présence donne un élan conceptuel à la composition. L’instrument de musique se reflète dans la coupe, dont le pied fin soutient une grappe de raisins. L’image est déformé par l’incurvation de la coupe. Le pichet rustique contraste avec l’élégante mandoline. La nappe, brodée de fils dorés, donne de la lumière et assied la composition avec raffinement dans la partie inférieure du tableau.

Le peintre est formé auprès de Henri Decaisne. Fin pastelliste, il expose au Salon de Paris de 1837 à 1882. Il représente principalement le beau monde de Paris, de Frédéric Chopin à George Sand (1866), quelques études d’anatomie et d’élégantes natures mortes. Le long de sa carrière, le peintre n’a pas de rival ; il excelle seul au sommet de son art.

Membre de la Société des artistes français, il fréquente les poètes Victor Hugo et Alphonse de Lamartine, le peintre Ernest Meissonnier et le comédien Frédérick Lemaître. Suite aux bouleversements politiques de la Monarchie de Juillet, le peintre part pour Londres en 1850 avec son épouse et ses deux filles. Ses fils, l’un brillant compositeur et l’autre comédien, demeurent à Paris.

À Londres, ses débuts sont difficiles, bien qu’il s’impose par l’art du pastel. Les anglais consacrent son art lorsqu’il réalise le portrait du premier Chambellan de la reine, Lord Willoughby et, plus tard celui de la Reine Victoria elle-même. Pour ne pas exciter la jalousie du peintre officiel de la cour, Franz Xaver Winterhalter, le portrait n’est pas exposé et le titre l’illustre modèle, pas dévoilé. De retour à Paris, « La liseuse », portrait de sa défunte fille, est acheté par l’Etat et sera exposé aux galeries des Champs Elysées à Paris. Peu après, le musée des Beaux-Arts de Nancy acquiert l’un des portraits de son épouse.

Musées :

• Nancy, Nottingham.

Bibliographie :

• Charles-Louis Gratia, « Traité de la peinture au Pastel », Nancy, Failly : Association des artistes lorrains (fondé par Charles-Louis Gratia en 1892), première édition 1891, réédition 2014. À lire sur : http://www.pastel-noun.com/pages/traite-de-pastel-charles-louis-gratia.html

• Louis Dussieux, « Les artistes français à l’étranger, troisième édition », Paris, Librairie Jacques Lecoffrre et Cie, p. 297

• Jany-Robert, « Le Pastel », Paris, Imprimerie des Beaux-Arts, 1908, p. 11-12 et p. 24