Project Description

Camille Bryen

Composition , 1964
Oil on canvas
Signed and dated lower right
Countersigned and numbered 389 on the back
Dimensions: 100 x 81cm
With frame: 121 x 103 cm
Sold

Camille Bryen is a poet of signs, words and color. He was one of the initiators of lyrical abstraction. Called the “father of tachisme”, he wanted to dissolve form in favor of non-form. Poet attached to the Dadaist movement, it was only after the war that he gave free rein to his graphic activity.

The first years, his painting is tormented with colors. From the 1960s, his language became more subtle. Pale colors, more nuanced, are placed in discrete touches. His paintings form mosaics of luminous and colorful touches, punctuated by fragmented lines.

If his work is delicate and measured, his words, protesting and virulent. In 1926, he was in Paris. His friends say that it was André Breton who, on his return from a surrealist congress, brought him back in his luggage.

It was as a poet that he joined the group of surrealists and the circles of Saint-Germain-des-Prés and Montparnasse. He meets Wols and actively participates in the discovery of automatic expressions. He tries to achieve an autonomous language, no longer controlled by rational thought but by the psyche. He has the will, following the example of the Dada movement, to make a clean sweep of all ideological or aesthetic constraints of the pre-war period.

He exhibited at the Salon des “Surindépendants” from 1935 to 1938. In 1947, he organized with Matthieu exhibitions which brought together Arp, Atlan, Hartung, Wols, Picabia… He exhibited at the Salons des Réalités Nouvelles, then regularly at the Salon de Mai. Four private exhibitions took place in Paris from 1952 to 1956 then in Milan and Vienna.

Major retrospectives of his work took place at the Museum of Le Havre in 1970, at the Museum of Modern Art in Paris in 1973 and finally in 1997 at the Museum of Nantes, his hometown. It is present in all major events in France and abroad.

Museums :

• In Paris: Center Pompidou (national museum of modern art)

• Internationally: New York (Museum of Modern Art), Oslo (Nasjonasgal), Rome (National Gallery of Modern Art), Jerusalem, Locarno (Gubelkian Fund), Basel (Kunst museum), Skopje, Wiesbaden.

• In France: Museum of Fine Arts in Lyon, Dunkirk, Grenoble, Lille, Marseille, Morlaix, Rennes, Les Sables d’Olonne, Saint Etienne, Strasbourg, Tourcoing. An entire room is dedicated to him at the Museum of Fine Arts in Le Havre.

Origin :

• Argos Gallery, Nantes, n°1372, 1964, coll. go.

Bibliography:

• Reproduced in the catalog raisonné Jacqueline Boutet-Loyer (No. 389 not reproduced)

Exhibitions:

“L’atelier de Bryen 67”, Galerie Argos, Nantes, October 14 to November 8, 1967

• “Triade 68”, Convention Center, Saint-Jean-de-Monts, summer 1968

Project Description

Camille Bryen

Composition, 1964
Huile sur toile
Signée et datée en bas à droite
Contresignée et numérotée 389 au dos
Dimensions : 100 x 81 cm
Avec cadre : 121 x 103 cm
Vendu

Camille Bryen est un poète des signes, des mots et de la couleur. Il fut l’un des initiateurs de l’abstraction lyrique. Nommé le « père du tachisme », il voulait dissoudre la forme au profit de la non-forme. Poète rattaché au mouvement dadaïste, ce n’est qu’après la guerre qu’il laisse libre cours à son activité graphique.

Les premières années, sa peinture est tourmentée de couleurs. À partir des années 1960, son langage devient plus subtil. Les couleurs pâles, plus nuancées, sont posées par touches discrète. Ses tableaux forment des mosaïques de touches lumineuses et colorées, rythmée par des lignes fragmentées.

Si son œuvre est délicate et mesurée, ses propos, contestataires et virulents. En 1926, il est à Paris. Ses amis racontent que c’est André Breton qui, au retour d’un congrès surréaliste, le ramène dans ses bagages.

C’est en tant que poète qu’il rejoint le groupe des surréalistes et les milieux de Saint-Germain-des-Prés et de Montparnasse. Il rencontre Wols et participe activement aux découvertes des expressions automatiques. Il tente de parvenir à un langage autonome, non plus contrôlé par la pensée rationnelle mais par le psychisme. Il a la volonté, à l’instar du mouvement Dada, de faire table rase de toutes contraintes idéologiques ou esthétiques de l’avant guerre.

Il expose au Salon des « Surindépendants » de 1935 à 1938. En 1947, il organise avec Matthieu des expositions qui regroupe Arp, Atlan, Hartung, Wols, Picabia… Il expose aux Salons des Réalités Nouvelles, puis régulièrement au Salon de Mai. Quatre expositions particulières ont eu lieu à Paris de 1952 à 1956 puis à Milan et Vienne.

Des grandes rétrospectives de son oeuvre eurent lieu au Musée du Havre en 1970, au Musée d’Art Moderne de Paris en 1973 puis enfin à 1997 au Musée de Nantes, sa ville natale. Il est présent dans toutes les manifestations importantes en france et à l’étranger.

Musées :

• À Paris : Centre Pompidou (musée national d’art moderne)

• À l’international : New York (Museum of Modern Art), Oslo (Nasjonasgal), Rome (Galerie National d’Art Moderne), Jerusalem, Locarno (Fond Gubelkian), Bâle (Kunst museum), Skopje, Wiesbaden.

• En France : musée des beaux-arts de Lyon, Dunkerque, Grenoble, Lille, Marseille, Morlaix, Rennes, Les Sables d’Olonne, Saint Etienne, Strasbourg, Tourcoing. Une salle entière lui est dédiée au musée des beaux-arts du Havre.

Provenance :

• Galerie Argos, Nantes, n°1372, 1964, coll. part.

Bibliographie :

• Reproduit dans le catalogue raisonnéJacqueline Boutet-Loyer (N°389 non reproduit)

Expositions :

« L’atelier de Bryen 67 », Galerie Argos, Nantes, 14 oct au 8 nov, 1967

• « Triade 68 », Palais des congrès, Saint-Jean-de -Monts, été 1968