Project Description

Edmond Lempereur

The boat trip, circa 1900
Oil on canvas
Signed lower left
Dimensions: 61 x 50cm
With frame: 80 x 69 cm
sold

On the banks of the Marne or the Seine, an elegant woman concealed by her parasol is about to leave for a boat trip. Further on, the eye lands on red boats, signified by a simple line. Vegetation and water are underlined by a few dark circles, typical of the painter’s palette. The painter makes the water ripple, encompasses the gaze in shades of blue and green. From Claude Monet whom he admired, he retains his impressionist sensibility in the treatment of light. A painter of suggestion rather than description, his drawing prefers a light, broad and brushed touch.

Edmond Lemperor painted landscapes around Paris, the banks of the Marne and the Seine, racetracks, brasserie and café scenes, guinguettes, café-concerts. The artist passed away prematurely, at the age of 33. French painter, draftsman and engraver, he is a member of the Society of Independent Artists. A posthumous exhibition of his body of work took place in 1926.

Museums: The Morosoff Collection, in Moscow, preserves some of his works, including Bar Tabarin (1907). Two paintings are kept at the Center National des Arts Plastiques ( Fishermen in Meulan , Fishermen ).

Project Description

Edmond Lempereur

La promenade en barque, circa 1900
Huile sur toile
Signée en bas à gauche
Dimensions : 61 x 50 cm
Avec cadre : 80 x 69 cm
vendu

Sur les bords de la Marne ou de la Seine, une élégante dissimulée par son ombrelle s’apprête à partir pour une ballade en barque. Plus loin, l’œil se pose sur des embarcations rouges, signifiées par un simple trait. La végétation et l’eau sont soulignées par quelques cernes noirs, typiques de la palette du peintre. Le peintre fait onduler l’eau, englobe le regard dans le camaïeu de bleu et de vert. De Claude Monet qu’il admirait, il retient sa sensibilité impressionniste dans le traitement de la lumière. Peintre de la suggestion plutôt que de la description, son dessin préfère une touche légère, large et brossée.

Edmond Lempereur a peint des paysages autour de Paris, des bords de la Marne et de la Seine, des champs de course, des scènes de brasserie et de café, des guinguettes, des cafés-concerts. L’artiste est disparu prématurément, à l’âge de 33 ans. Peintre, dessinateur et graveur français, il est membre de la Société des Artistes Indépendants. Une exposition posthume de son l’ensemble de son travail eut lieu en 1926.

Musées : La Collection Morosoff, de Moscou, conservent certaines de ses oeuvres dont Bar Tabarin (1907). Deux tableaux sont conservés au Centre National des Arts Plastiques (Pêcheurs à Meulan, Pêcheurs).